Rocky Mountain School District No. 6


ERASE Bullying

Expect Respect and a Safe Education

The Ministry of Education launched the ERASE Bullying strategy in 2012-2013. It is a comprehensive strategy that includes a ​confidential reporting tool​ ​for students and/or parents, training on creating safe school cultures and violent threat risk assessment for every school in the province. 

Every BC school district has a designated Safe School Coordinator as part of the ERASE strategy. In SD 6 Rocky Mountain please contact Viveka Johnson - Director of Instruction, Learning Support Services (250-342-9243 ext. 4674).

Rocky Mountain School District is committed to creating and maintaining school environments in which students, staff, parents, and community members feel safe. Schools respond to all threats of violence using the Violent Threat Risk Assessment as outlined by our Regional Protocol. We are committed to keeping our students and communities safe for all. The brochure distributed at the start of each school year to every student included below represents 'fair notice' to our students and our communities that SD 6 will address all threats to self and/or others.

SD6 Student Violence Threat Risk Assessment Fair Notice and Process Brochure

On October 31, 2014 the superintendents of the six Kootenay school districts signed the East /West Kootenay Boundary Violence Threat Risk Assessment Protocol. This is a document about how we work together with our partners as multi-agency teams, to prevent violence in our schools and communities. School districts are committed to investigating any threats to self and others.

The strength of this partnership between school districts and community partners lies in the multidisciplinary composition of the Violence Threat Risk Assessment Teams (VTRA) in each district. The VTRA team members will strive to share and review relevant information, details of threatening situation or evidence promptly, to collaborate effectively, and to make use of a broad range of expertise, as permitted by applicable federal and provincial privacy legislation.  This collaborative process will respect an individual’s rights to privacy and the safety of all, to the fullest extent possible. 

Sherri Mohoruk, Superintendent of Integrated Services and Safe Schools for the Ministry of Education was in attendance for the signing. Sherri stated “This is the first regional protocol in the province.  it makes sense, particularly in the Kootenays, given the crossover of the service areas of the community partners with the school districts”. In addition to the superintendents, the Southeast District Commander for RCMP and the Executive Director of Service Delivery for the Ministry of Children and Families Development have signed the protocol.


If you are in need of immediate assistant or you know someone who needs help right away, please call 911 or your local police authority. 

If you need someone to talk to please call:

  • ​youthinBC24/7 crisis line at 1-866-661-3311 or access their online chat at (trained volunteers from 12pm-1 am daily)
  • Suicide Hotline at 1-800-SUICIDE (1-800-784-2433) for confidential, non-judgemental and free support available 24/7